Knoxville underage DWI defense attorney who will fight for your rights
It is illegal for anyone under the age of 21 to purchase or drink alcohol in the United States. It follows, then, that it is also illegal for minors to drink and drive. The drunk driving laws for minors are even more stringent than those for adult drivers. Most drivers over the age of 21 are subjected to the 0.08% blood alcohol concentration (BAC) standard, meaning that a driver may be charged with Driving Under the Influence or Driving While Intoxicated if he or she tests for a BAC of 0.08% or higher. Drivers under the age of 21, however, may be charged with drunk driving for a BAC as low as 0.02%, or essentially one drink or less.
Tennessee Under Age DWI
Underage drunk driving is taken very seriously in the United States, and Tennessee is no exception. Underage DWI means that anyone under the age of 21 caught driving with any amount of alcohol in their system may be charged with DUI or DWI. For even a first offense, the penalties for a juvenile drunk driving conviction can be severe. These include:
● Jail time
● Community service hours
● Alcohol abuse treatment course
Minors who have been charged with drunk driving and illegal possession or consumption of alcohol will likely face trial, especially if they are over 18 years old. In these cases, it is important for minors to seek an experienced criminal defense attorney to represent them during their trials.
Underage DWI Defense Lawyer in Knoxville, TN
In addition to these court-ordered penalties, the minor will also have his or her driver's license suspended for 6 months for a first offense, even if he or she is only arrested and not charged. In order to avoid license suspension, the underage driver must successfully appeal the suspension within 10 days of the initial arrest. If you are under the age of 21 or have a child who is underage and who has been arrested for drunk driving, consider consulting with a Tennessee underage DWI defense attorney as soon as possible to discuss your legal rights and options.
If you or your child is facing underage DUI or DWI charges in Knoxville or East Tennessee, call the Law Offices Of James A.H. Bell at (865) 637-2900 for your free consultation.